How to Hire the Right Divorce Lawyer No one wants to hire a divorce lawyer, but the fact is that millions of men and women go through divorce and custody proceedings every year. Many people believe that any lawyer can and will protect them from the potential nightmare of a domestic lawsuit.What do I need to know about getting a divorce in New York State? New York has laws that limit how you can get a divorce. There are now seven grounds (reasons) you can use to get a divorce in New York. The divorce judgment will include orders about marital property and marital debts, as well as child custody, visitation, child support, and spousal support.How to Get a Quick Divorce in New York. Divorce in New York can be accomplished quickly if the two spouses can agree on distribution of property, custody of children, and support and visitation. If you meet the residency requirements, New.Over-using Your Divorce lawyer. divorce attorneys generally charge $200- $300 per hour, and partners in well-known New York City, Los Angeles, and San Francisco family law firms typically charge 0 per hour. These attorneys can provide advice on divorce-related issues, but they are not therapists or certified financial planners.Steps to become a Lawyer/Attorney in New York.. This rate is lower than the rate of violent crime in the U.S. as a whole, but still gives New York attorneys plenty of work. If you wish to join the rolls of these New York lawyers and become a licensed member of the New York Bar Association.On average in New York, if both parties agree to divorce, and I must stress this is a rough average, an uncontested divorce usually takes about 3 months. How long does a contested divorce tale in NY? A contested divorce in NY lasts about 9 months to a year, on average. Different divorce cases can differ in duration for a variety of reasons.New York divorce law changed on August 15, 2010, when Governor David Paterson signed no-fault divorce into law in New York state. Until 2010, New york recognized divorces only upon fault-based criteria or upon separation. The State Senate had approved the No-Fault Divorce bill on June 30, and the State Assembly passed the bill on July 1.